Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 16, 2024

The Honorable Francisco Obadiah Campbell Hooker Ambassador Embassy of the Republic of Nicaragua 1627 New Hampshire Ave NW Washington, D.C. 20009

Dear Ambassador Campbell Hooker:

We write you today with deep concern regarding violations of religious freedom in Nicaragua, exemplified by the recent actions taken by your government against Mountain Gateway, a Christian organization with missionary presence in North and Central America for more than a decade.

It has come to our attention that many individuals affiliated with Mountain Gateway have been arrested following a widely attended religious worship service approved by the Nicaraguan government. It is our understanding that these individuals have been without access to legal counsel, understanding of the allegations against them, or documentation of their alleged criminal charges. This follows the arrests of several members of the Catholic Church, Red Cross, and other non-governmental organizations in recent years by the Nicaraguan government.

In addition, it is believed that the Nicaraguan government has issued arrest warrants for at least three American citizens affiliated with Mountain Gateway, and that the Nicaraguan government has requested other Latin American countries arrest and extradite these individuals if they travel to any of these other countries.

Religious freedom is a fundamental human right, and we urge you and the government of Nicaragua to take prompt action to address all violations of this right--in upholding international human rights standards. As Members of the United States Congress, we have a vested interest in both the upholding of international religious freedom, and the safety and security of the American citizens we understand are currently being targeted for arrest and extradition by the Nicaraguan government.

We request a briefing on the status of and allegations against the individuals affiliated with Mountain Gateway in Nicaragua within 10 days of receipt of this letter.

Thank you for your attention to this urgent issue, and we look forward to your response, which can be sent to Laura Titus (Laura.Titus@mail.house.gov) with the office of Congressman Robert Aderholt.

Robert B. Aderland

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

Tommy Tuberville
United States Senator

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Mike Rogers Member of Congress

Dale W. Strong
Member of Congress

Katri Boyd Britt

Katie Boyd Britt United States Senator

Jerry L. Carl

Member of Congress

Gary J. Palmer

Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell

Member of Congress

John Boozman

United States Senator



Ted Budd United States Senator

Charles J. "Chuck" Fleischmann Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber, Sr. Member of Congress

Tracey Mann
Member of Congress

Mike Ezell
Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Doug Lamborn
Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Beth Van Duyne Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress Burgess Owens Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress



Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Austin Scott

Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen

Member of Congress

Eric Burlison

Member of Congress

Jim Banks

Member of Congress

Keith Self

Member of Congress

Barry Loudermilk

Member of Congress

Andrew Ogles

Member of Congress

ales X Morney

Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan

Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko

Member of Congress

Elijah Crane

Member of Congress

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S.

Member of Congress

André Carson

Member of Congress

Barbara Lee

Member of Congress



Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress Tom Tiffany

Member of Congress

Thomas P Ti

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress