Tuberville Calls for Designation of National Women in Ag Day

The lawmakers’ bipartisan resolution would designate this Thursday, March 24, as a national day honoring ‘the countless women who help agriculture prosper both at home and abroad.’

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) today joined fellow members of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, U.S. Senators Joni Ernst (R-IA) and Tina Smith (D-MN), to call for this upcoming Thursday, March 24, to be designated as “National Women in Agriculture Day,” honoring “the countless women who help agriculture prosper both at home and abroad.”

“America’s agriculture industry would not be as successful or robust without the contributions of our mothers, daughters, sisters, and wives,” said Senator Tuberville. “We show our immense appreciation for the women who rise before dawn and work past dark to feed, clothe, and fuel our state and nation.”

Click here to view the text of the resolution.

The resolution is cosponsored by U.S. Senators Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Susan Collins (R-ME), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), John Boozman (R-AR), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mike Braun (R-IN), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), John Thune (R-SD), Roger Marshall (R-KS), John Hoeven (R-ND), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jerry Moran (R-KS), James Risch (R-ID), Jon Tester (D-MT), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Mike Rounds (R-SD), John Kennedy (R-LA), Lindsay Graham (R-SC), Tim Scott (R-SC), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Steve Daines (R-MT), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Angus King (I-ME), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Roger Wicker (R-MS), John Barrasso (R-WY), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Gary Peters (D-MI), and Ben Cardin (D-MD).

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.