Tuberville, Colleagues Reintroduce Legislation to Reduce Gun Violence, Protect Licensed Firearm Dealers

WASHINGTON — U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) along with U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) and Lindsey Graham (R-SC) reintroduced the Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL) Protection Act of 2023 to increase penalties for criminals who steal firearms from federally licensed firearms and ammunition dealers (FFLs).

“Ask police officers and they will tell you: many of today’s gun crimes are committed with stolen guns,” Senator Tuberville said. “We need to protect the Second Amendment for law-abiding people and ensure that criminals get the justice they deserve. This bill will keep criminals who use stolen guns where they belong: behind bars.”

The legislation is also cosponsored by U.S. Senators Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Jim Risch (R-ID), Dr. Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), John Cornyn (R-TX), Deb Fischer (R-NE), John Boozman (R-AR), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mike Braun (R-IN), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Ted Budd (R-NC).

It is also supported by the National Sports Shooting Foundation (NSSF).


According to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF),  from 2017 to 2021, 5,395 FFL theft incidents were reported. During these incidents, a total of 34,339 firearms were stolen from FFLs.

The FFL Protection Act of 2023:

  • Doubles the statutory maximum penalty for knowingly stealing any firearm in an FFL’s business inventory from 10 to 20 years.
  • Imposes a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years for burglary from an FFL and 5 years for robbery from an FFL.
  • Criminalizes the attempted theft of a firearm from a licensed importer, manufacturer, dealer, or collector.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.