Tuberville, Colleagues Resolution to Commemorate National Police Week Passes Senate

WASHINGTON—U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) joined his Senate colleagues in adopting a resolution to commemorate National Police Week to show their continued support for law enforcement officers. The resolution was unanimously adopted by the U.S. Senate on Wednesday. Click here for a video of Senator Tuberville discussing the importance of National Police Week.

“Our men and women in blue serve as the boundary between a functioning society and a lawless one,” said Senator Tuberville. “We need to support our law enforcement. The safety of our communities is not possible without them.”


The resolution honors the 576 law enforcement officers who lost their lives from January 2021 to May 2022. Last year marked the most intentional killings of police since the September 11, 2001, attacks. In the face of an ongoing pandemic and rise in violent crime, law enforcement personnel continue to serve their communities, often at great risk to themselves.

The resolution designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2022, as “National Police Week,” and expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.

Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Angus King (I-ME), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Susan Collins (R-ME), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), James Risch (R-ID), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Gary Peters (R-MI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Rand Paul (R-KY), Chris Coons (D-DE), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-CT), John Thune (R-SD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Edward Markey (D-MA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Todd Young (R-IN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tom Carper (D-DE), Steve Daines (R-MT), Michael Bennett (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), John Kennedy (R-LA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Ben Sasse (R-NE), John Cornyn (R-TX), Mike Braun (R-IN), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Boozman (R-AR), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), James Lankford (R-OK), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), and Dick Durbin (D-IL) joined Tuberville in supporting the resolution.

Read the resolution here.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.