Tuberville Cosponsors Bill to Fight Executive Overreach 

REINS Act would require congressional approval for major rules proposed by the executive branch

WASHINGTON — U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) joined U.S. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY) and more than two dozen Republican colleagues to reintroduce legislation to increase oversight of the federal rulemaking process. The Regulations from the Executive in Need of Scrutiny (REINS) Act would require federal agencies that propose major changes to rules and policies to obtain approval from Congress.

“Under the Constitution, Congress is supposed to write our laws,” said Senator Tuberville. “But the Biden administration keeps trying to run the country out of the White House. I’m not going to stand for that. This legislation would ensure that any regulation with a major impact on our country would go through Congress, like the Constitution says.”

The bill defines a “major” rule as one that the Office of Management and Budget determines may result in an economic impact of $100 million or greater each year. Specifically, the bill describes the applicable rules as those that cause “a major increase in costs or prices” for American consumers, government agencies, regions, or industries, or “significant adverse effects” on the economy.

Under the REINS Act, once major rules are drafted, they must then be affirmatively approved by both chambers of Congress and then signed by the President, satisfying the bicameralism and presentment requirements of the Constitution. Currently, regulations ultimately take effect unless Congress specifically disapproves.

In addition to Senators Tuberville and Paul, cosponsors in the U.S. Senate include U.S. Senators Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Mike Lee (R-UT), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Jim Risch (R-ID), Rick Scott (R-FL), Mike Crapo (R-ID), John Hoeven (R-ND), John Barrasso (R-WY), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Steve Daines (R-MT), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS), Todd Young (R-IN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Mike Braun (R-IN), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), James Lankford (R-OK), Ted Budd (R-NC), Katie Britt (R-AL), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), and John Boozman (R-AR).

U.S. Representative Kat Cammack (R-FL-03) introduced the bill in the U.S. House of Representatives along with 182 cosponsors.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.