Tuberville Joins Supreme Court Amicus Brief in Support of President Trump’s Appeal of Colorado Ballot Disqualification

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) joined Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) in filing a Supreme Court amicus brief in the case Donald J. Trump v. Norma Anderson, et al. House Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-LA) led the amicus effort in the U.S. House of Representatives and was joined by Speaker Mike Johnson and 135 other Members of Congress. 

In Trump v. Anderson, the U.S. Supreme Court is weighing whether former President Donald Trump should remain on the ballot in the State of Colorado, after the Colorado Supreme Court ruled that he should be removed, even though he is the current frontrunner to be the Republican Party’s presidential candidate. The legislators argue in their brief that “the Colorado Supreme Court’s opinion tramples the prerogatives of members of Congress.” They argue that the court “raced past numerous textual and structural limitations … which are primarily designed to ensure that Congress controls the enforcement and removal” of a president from office, and that the court “adopted a malleable and expansive view of ‘engage in insurrection,’ which will easily lead to widespread abuse” against the political opponents of those in power in the U.S. The legislators urge the U.S. Supreme Court to reverse the Colorado Supreme Court’s decision.

“Joe Biden claims to be ‘defending democracy’ while actively trying to silence his political opponent,” said Coach Tuberville. “This unprecedented court ruling by a bare majority of democrat-appointed activist politicians in robes is an outrage to real democracy and goes far beyond the text of the Constitution or any other law. I have no doubt this will be overturned by the Supreme Court and this attack on democracy will fail. I’m proud to stand with President Trump and to defend both the Constitution and the right of every American to make their voices heard at the ballot box.”

The Senators are joined on the brief by Sens. Mitch McConnell (R-KY), John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Katie Britt (R-AL), Ted Budd (R-NC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Ron Johnson (R-WI), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Jerry Moran (R-KS.), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), James Risch (R-ID), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), J.D. Vance (R-OH), and Roger Wicker (R-MS).

Read the brief here.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.