Tuberville: “The Supreme Court must uphold the Constitution”

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) held a press conference at the Supreme Court ahead of the Colorado case that would kick President Trump off the ballot. Senator Tuberville was joined by Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS) and Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-TN).

Read Coach Tuberville’s remarks below or watch here.

“We are here today to make a stand for Democracy. We are here to stand for the right to vote for the candidates of our choice. This should not be a partisan issue—this is an American issue. But Democrats have made it a partisan issue.

“Our entire system of government is based on the consent of the governed. Our country is based on the idea that the people decide. Right now, the American people are speaking out loud and clear.

“We want safe communities and we want a secure border. But some people in this city don’t like that. The liberal elites have opened our borders, bankrupted our country, and allowed criminals to take over our cities. They know the American people are against them—because they are against the American people.

“Now Democrats in state capitals across America are trying to kick President Trump off the ballot. They are using a legal theory that has never been used before. It goes way beyond what the Constitution says. It twists the words of our Constitution into something it has never been.

“Democrats like to talk about “Our Democracy.” But Democrats are desperately trying to stop the American people from deciding who will be our next President. They couldn’t care less about the Constitution. They couldn’t care less about the will of the people.

“And so, it now falls to this Court. This Court must do its job. This Court must uphold the original public meaning of the Constitution. Stop this attack on Our Democracy. Let the American people decide this November.”

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.