Tuberville to Biden Administration: Stop Threatening Gig Workers, Uber Drivers

WASHINGTON – Today, U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) joined Senator Bill Cassidy (R-LA) in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution to overturn the Department of Labor’s (DOL) final worker classification rule, which threatens the gig economy and jeopardizes the ability of 27 million Americans to work as independent contractors. This comes as the DOL final rule was released earlier this year. U.S. Representative Kevin Kiley (R-CA) introduced the companion CRA resolution in the U.S. House of Representatives.  

Independent contractors, or freelancers, make their own hours to fit their schedule and decide where and how they want to work. The Biden administration rule attempts to restrict the ability of American workers to be independent contractors and take advantage of the flexibility that status provides. The rule creates a non-exhaustive, six-factor litmus test for unelected bureaucrats to interpret and decide who is and who is not classified as an independent contractor. It also casts as large a net as possible and gives less legal certainty to independent contractors impacted by the regulation. 

“Joe Biden’s reckless spending has tanked the economy and made life unaffordable for most Americans,” said Coach Tuberville. “Now, he’s threatening the livelihoods of 27 million Americans who work as independent contractors and essentially forcing them to unionize. Proud to join Senator Cassidy to get the government out of the way and allow contractors to decide for themselves how best to do their jobs.”

Sen. Tuberville and Sen. Cassidy are joined by U.S. Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mike Braun (R-IN), Ted Budd (R-NC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), and Roger Wicker (R-MS) in cosponsoring this resolution.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.