Tuberville Sponsors Resolution Honoring Women in Ag Day

WASHINGTON – The United States Senate unanimously passed a resolution, sponsored by U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), designating today as “National Women in Agriculture Day,” honoring “countless women who help agriculture prosper both at home and abroad.” Senator Tuberville, Member of the Senate Agriculture Committee and Ranking Member of the Rural Development and Energy Subcommittee, continues to stand up in support of American farmers and encourage more women to enter the agriculture industry.

In addition to Senator Tuberville, the resolution was co-sponsored by U.S. Senators Joni Ernst (R-IA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Steve Daines (R-MT), John Fetterman (D-PA), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Mike Braun (R-IN), John Cornyn (R-TX), Katie Britt (R-AL), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Jim Risch (R-ID), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Chris Coons (D-DE), Corey Booker (D-NJ), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN),  John Barasso (R-WY), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Susan Collins (R-ME), Angus King, Jr. (I-ME), Jon Tester (D-MT), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Joe Manchin III (D-WV), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Patty Murray (D-WA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Rick Schott (R-FL), Peter Welch (D-VT), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), John Thune (R-SC), Deb Fischer (R-NE), John Boozeman (R-AR), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Amy Klobuchar (R-MN), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), John Hoeven (R-ND), Ron Wyden (D-OR), John Kennedy (R-LA), Tim Scott (R-SC), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD).

Click here to view the text of the resolution.


In 2022, Senator Tuberville joined the resolution to make March 24, 2022, “National Women in Agriculture Day.”

According to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Census of Agriculture data for 2022, there are over 1.2 million female agricultural producers. These women make up approximately one-third of the producer workforce. In 2022, farms operated by women in the U.S. sold approximately $222 billion in agricultural products, which accounted for 36 percent of total agriculture sales. In addition, women maintain a significant presence in the 4-H Program and National FFA Organization. In 2022, women accounted for 44 percent of total FFA membership and held 50 percent of state leadership positions.

In 2022, Alabama was home to nearly 22,000 female producers on over 20,000 farms. Additionally, the Alabama Farmers Federation contains a Women’s Leadership Committee division. The committee provides women the opportunity to participate in policymaking and policy execution activities across Alabama to enhance agriculture and women’s critical role in the industry.

Today’s Senate resolution honors women’s hard work and service in agriculture and designates March 21, 2024, “National Women in Agriculture Day” to highlight their contributions to our country.

Senator Tommy Tuberville represents Alabama in the United States Senate and is a member of the Senate Armed Services, Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs, and HELP Committees.